*Address the poem to the reader

Yes, I know that it’s been far too long since I’ve updated with a new experiment. It’s called life, and “If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

But the next experiment isn’t to quote Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, is it? It’s to revisit my creative writing roots and flash back to my Intro to Poetry class. Although writing it is painstaking for me now, I’ve always loved reading poetry. When I was thirteen, I had the prologue to Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet memorized. Sure, Leonardo DiCaprio might have stoked my enthusiasm, but I voraciously read and was intrigued with Shakespeare’s iambic pentameter.

I have notebooks of poetry that I wrote as a teenager; most of it is actually pretty good. But I remember sitting in my bedroom for hours, whittling away at my words until they fit the poetic equation that I sought to answer. There are a lot of criteria and variables in poetry: couplets, tercets (or haiku), quatrains. ABAB, alliteration, slant rhyme, internal rhyme, similes, metaphors. Just the tip.

 

The first step of this exercise would be to consider my audience. I’ll be honest, whenever I write anything, I don’t really take into account who might be reading my work. I still get surprised whenever I see comments on this blog. But here it is, cranked out in an hour. Tentatively titled “Ode to my Readership.”

 

The words I think of tumble out of me,

no paper but type and font on a screen,

and you make the effort to read them all

even before knowing what they all mean.

 

Not that I speak in a secret language,

but I take time to craft the words I write

So that you can know what goes through my mind

and interpret their meanings as you’d like.

 

For the moment I write for you and I,

no unknown readers from what I can tell.

But if you are bored with my writing style

then you can go straight to another blog.

 

Three stanzas. Iambic pentameter. 

Bam.

Leave a Reply

